WSBK: All the stats ahead of this weekend’s Assen round in Holland

The Superbike World Championship is heading back to the Assen circuit in the Netherlands this weekend – and in preparation for the action packed weekend, here’s a bunch of facts and figures about WSBK racing at the iconic Dutch track. 


  • Assen has held 50 WSBK races over the years, and is second only to Phillip Island for WorldSBK races throughout the history of the Championship.


  • British riders have won a total of 26 of the 50 World Superbike races run at Assen.


  • Over the years, 19 different riders have won WorldSBK races at Assen – and two of them, Sykes and Rea (past and present World Champions respectively) will be fighting for the podium this weekend.


  • Carl Fogarty still holds the record for most races won at the Assen circuit: winning 12 times out of 16. Fogarty also won 8 races back to back at the Dutch track, from 1993 to 1996 – but Jonathan Rea is hot on his heels, having won the last 5 WSBK races held here.


  • Reigning World Champion Rea will make his 200th WorldSBK start on Sunday at Assen – the track where he has recorded the most wins (9) and podiums (12).

  • Thanks to both Rea and Tom Sykes, Kawasaki is on course to become the first manufacturer with 6 consecutive pole positions at Assen. They currently share the spoils with Ducati, who achieved a string of five from 1992-1996.


  • Tom Sykes has achieved four poles at Assen, more than any other WSBK rider. He’s closely followed by Troy Corser (1995, 1999, 2006) and Frankie Chili (1998, 2003, 2004).


  • Only two riders have managed to achieve their maiden win at Assen – Chris Walker in 2006 and Sylvain Guintoli in 2012.


Get Motor Cycle Monthly delivered through your letterbox every month. 12 issues for £11.99. Click here for more information.

Tell us what YOU think...