The Superbike World Championship is heading back to the Assen circuit in the Netherlands this weekend – and in preparation for the action packed weekend, here’s a bunch of facts and figures about WSBK racing at the iconic Dutch track. 


  • Assen has held 50 WSBK races over the years, and is second only to Phillip Island for WorldSBK races throughout the history of the Championship.


  • British riders have won a total of 26 of the 50 World Superbike races run at Assen.


  • Over the years, 19 different riders have won WorldSBK races at Assen – and two of them, Sykes and Rea (past and present World Champions respectively) will be fighting for the podium this weekend.


  • Carl Fogarty still holds the record for most races won at the Assen circuit: winning 12 times out of 16. Fogarty also won 8 races back to back at the Dutch track, from 1993 to 1996 – but Jonathan Rea is hot on his heels, having won the last 5 WSBK races held here.


  • Reigning World Champion Rea will make his 200th WorldSBK start on Sunday at Assen – the track where he has recorded the most wins (9) and podiums (12).

  • Thanks to both Rea and Tom Sykes, Kawasaki is on course to become the first manufacturer with 6 consecutive pole positions at Assen. They currently share the spoils with Ducati, who achieved a string of five from 1992-1996.


  • Tom Sykes has achieved four poles at Assen, more than any other WSBK rider. He’s closely followed by Troy Corser (1995, 1999, 2006) and Frankie Chili (1998, 2003, 2004).


  • Only two riders have managed to achieve their maiden win at Assen – Chris Walker in 2006 and Sylvain Guintoli in 2012.


Ross Mowbray

Does this get you revved up? Tell us why...

Bikes for sale

Subscribe to MoreBikes Newspaper

Get MoreBikes delivered through your letterbox every month. 12 issues for £15. Click here for more information.

Get Updates

Enter your e-mail address below and you will receive biking news straight into your inbox...

You can unsubscribe at any time.