Which motorcycle legend would you like to enter Motor Sport Hall of Fame in 2018?



Twelve of the greatest names in motorcycle history have been shortlisted for the Motor Sport Hall of Fame Awards in 2018 – and you’ve got until April to cast your vote!

The 2018 nominees are:

Article continues below…

Enjoy everything More Bikes by reading the monthly newspaper, Read FREE Online.

             Mike Hailwood MBE: few could forget the victorious late-1970s TT return of ‘Mike the Bike’, a fabulous encore for a peerless career that resulted in 14 Isle of Man wins and nine Grand Prix world championships.

             Geoff Duke OBE: the Isle of Man legend was a household name in the 1950s, winning three world titles for Norton before repeating that success with Gilera.

             Soichiro Honda: as founder and president of the eponymous marque, Honda had a seismic impact on the world of motorcycling.

Article continues below…

             Casey Stoner: the Australian star dominated the 2007 season with Ducati, then switched to Honda for 2011 to become a two-time MotoGP champion by the age of 26.

             Wayne Rainey: a fierce rivalry with fellow nominee Kevin Schwantz lit up the top division of Grand Prix racing, and inspired him to take a hat-trick of championships in 1990, ’91 and ’92.

             Kevin Schwantz: 25 times a Grand Prix winner and the 1993 500cc world champion, the hard-charging Schwantz was part of a golden era for motorcycle racing.

Article continues below…

             Freddie Spencer: the versatile ‘Fast Freddie’ scored a historic double in 1985, claiming both the 250cc and 500cc world titles.

             Kenny Roberts: America’s first world champion and a fierce safety campaigner, Roberts secured his third and final title in 1983 after a memorable season-long battle with Freddie Spencer.

             Joey Dunlop OBE: a genuine icon of road-racing, ‘Yer Maun’ still holds the record for the most TT wins – a remarkable 26 victories over the course of 23 years.

Article continues below…

             Eddie Lawson: as part of an incredible group of American racers who starred during the 1980s and ‘90s, Lawson won four 500c world championships.

             Mick Doohan: the dominant force during the 1990s, Aussie Doohan won five consecutive 500cc titles from ’94.

             Jim Redman MBE, During the sport’s golden era in the 1960s, no star shone brighter than six time world champion Jim Redman, achieving a unique ‘hat trick’ of double wins in 1963, 1964 and 1965 in the Lightweight & Junior Races

The prestigious event takes place on 4 June 2018 at the Royal Automobile Club’s Woodcote Park in Surrey, and it’s down to motorcycle fans to vote who will be the next to join legends such as the late great John Surtees, Giacomo Agostini, John McGuinness, Valentino Rossi and its latest inductee Barry Sheene.

All voters will be entered into a special prize draw to win a package for two to the Le Mans Classic 2018, courtesy of Grandstand Motor Sports. Not only that, the lucky winner will also receive a beautiful Christopher Ward C7 Rapide Chronograph COSC Limited Edition watch, courtesy of Hall of Fame timing partner Christopher Ward.

For more information and to cast your vote, visit: www.motorsportmagazine.com/hall-of-fame/hall-fame-2018-nominees-announced


Enjoy everything More Bikes by reading the MoreBikes monthly newspaper. Click here to subscribe, or Read FREE Online.

Sign-up to the More Bikes Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address below and get regular updates straight to your inbox…

You can unsubscribe at any time.

Newsletter Signup

Enter your e-mail address below and you will receive biking news straight into your inbox…

You can unsubscribe at any time.