Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) has taken pole position at the Grand Prix of Qatar – setting a new lap record for the Losail Circuit, with a lap time of 1.53.680.

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) will line up in second position on the grid, with the reigning world champion putting in a time just 0.202 seconds slower than Zarco. Danilo Petrucci (Alma Pramac Racing) finishes off the front row, continuing his strong form from the last few days on the Ducati Desmosedici.


Heading the second row will be Brit Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda CASTROL) in an impressive fourth position, just ahead of Friday’s fastest, Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) in fifth. Spaniard Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) took sixth, just 0.659 off pole position.

The third row will be led by Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team), followed by Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and then Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team).Q1’s fastest man Jack Miller (Alma Pramac Racing) took 10th position this evening, beating Andrea Iannone (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) in 11th, whilst 2017 race winner Maverick Vinales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) will start 2018 from 12th position. Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) prepares to line up from 13th on the grid after a competitive Q1 session, ahead of rookies Franco Morbidelli (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) and Hafizh Syahrin (Monster Yamaha Tech 3), who will make their debuts from 14th and 15th position.

Now the grid is set, but who do you think will win? For a full list of results, click HERE.

Ross Mowbray
Latest posts by Ross Mowbray (see all)

Does this get you revved up? Tell us why...

Bikes for sale

Subscribe to MoreBikes Newspaper

Get MoreBikes delivered through your letterbox every month. 12 issues for £15. Click here for more information.

Get Updates

Enter your e-mail address below and you will receive biking news straight into your inbox...

You can unsubscribe at any time.