BSB: Jake Dixon scores pole position with fastest EVER Knockhill lap.



Jake Dixon scored his first pole position of the 2018 Bennetts British Superbike Championship at Knockhill this afternoon (Sunday), launching the RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki to the top of the times with the fastest ever lap of the Scottish circuit.

The fight for pole position started with Josh Brookes leading the way after Q2 as the lap times continued to tumble in an incredibly fast qualifying session. Christian Iddon was one of the first riders to post a time which put him briefly at the top of the times before last year’s double race winner Dixon charged to the top.

Dixon’s rivals were pushing to edge the advantage but with 0.5s covering all nine riders in Datatag Q3 it was the RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki rider who emerged ahead to celebrate his second front row start of the season.

Article continues below…

Enjoy everything More Bikes by reading the monthly newspaper, Read FREE Online.

Brookes was hard-charging his way up the order and he soon set a lap to put him to within 0.098s of Dixon to secure his second consecutive front row start as he bids to fight back in the two races tomorrow after narrowly missing out on the victory at Snetterton.

Glenn Irwin had set the pace in free practice three but the Be Wiser Ducati rider will start tomorrow’s opening race from the second row, just ahead of Danny Buchan who held off Michael Laverty onboard the Tyco BMW.

Bradley Ray will start race one from seventh on the grid, missing out on the row two by just 0.003s on the Buildbase Suzuki with Christian Iddon and Dan Linfoot completing the top nine riders who qualified for Q3.

Article continues below…

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Knockhill, Datatag Qualifying:

Jake Dixon (RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki) 47.158s
Josh Brookes (McAMS Yamaha) +0.098s
Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.184s
Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.223s
Danny Buchan (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +0.272s
Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) +0.386s
Bradley Ray (Buildbase Suzuki) +0.389s
Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +0.437s
Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) +0.564s

Article continues below…


Enjoy everything More Bikes by reading the MoreBikes monthly newspaper. Click here to subscribe, or Read FREE Online.

Sign-up to the More Bikes Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address below and get regular updates straight to your inbox…

You can unsubscribe at any time.

Newsletter Signup

Enter your e-mail address below and you will receive biking news straight into your inbox…

You can unsubscribe at any time.