WSB: Here’s the stats going into Aragon (round 3) this weekend



Want to be a WSB professional? Fancy knowing more than the experts? S’easy! Just use our handy crib-sheet to be the font of all WSB knowledge:

1. In 2011 Aragon became the fifth Spanish track to host a round in the WSB Championship, and the 44th circuit to join WSB overall.

2. A total of 70 races have been run on Spanish soil so far. Aragon, with 16 races so far, is set to surpass Albacete (16 race in total which ran from 1992 to 1999) to become the second most-used Spanish circuit for WSB races after Valencia (which had 22 races in total).

Article continues below…

Enjoy everything More Bikes by reading the monthly newspaper, Read FREE Online.

3. The last 12 wins in Aragon were by British riders. Since the first race at Aragon in 2014 the winners have been; Chaz Davies (7 times), Jonathan Rea (3) and Tom Sykes (2). The Brits took over from Italy, which won the first four races at the Spanish circuit with Marco Melandri (2) and Max Biaggi (2) finding their way to the top of the podium.

4. In the last four race weekends at Aragon (2015-2018), only two non-British riders made it to the podium; Marco Melandri three times, and Spaniard Xavi Fores who scored a third place finish in Race One last year.

5. The last eight Aragon races (since 2015, Race One) were won only by two riders; Chaz Davies (5 times) and Jonathan Rea (3).

Article continues below…

Rea at Aragon in full flight.

6. Jonathan Rea climbed on the podium in all his eight races run for Kawasaki at Aragon.

7. Chaz Davies goes into the Aragon weekend with seven wins at this track. An eighth win would put Davies in a very close elite of riders who have won eight or more times on a given track; Carl Fogarty and Jonathan Rea with 12 wins each at Assen whilst Tom Sykes bagged nine wins at Donington.

8. Carlos Checa is the only Spanish rider who achieved a pole, win or fastest lap in Aragon. He recorded the fastest race lap in the very first race held here in 2011.

Article continues below…

9. An unstoppable Alvaro Bautista has recorded six wins out of six races in this beginning of the season, matching the season starts of Troy Bayliss in 2002 and Neil Hodgson in 2003: the latter went on to win the first nine races that year. In Aragon Bautista will be already aiming for the second all-time string of wins (nine), first set by Colin Edwards from Laguna Seca/Race Two, 2002 to Imola/Race Two, 2002. This was then repeated by Neil Hodgson in the 2003 season. The all-time record sequence was set by Jonathan Rea in the last 11 races of last season.

10. Given the current form of Alvaro Bautista, Ducati is the first manufacturer to have a real chance of getting to 350 WSB wins.


Enjoy everything More Bikes by reading the MoreBikes monthly newspaper. Click here to subscribe, or Read FREE Online.

Sign-up to the More Bikes Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address below and get regular updates straight to your inbox…

You can unsubscribe at any time.

Newsletter Signup

Enter your e-mail address below and you will receive biking news straight into your inbox…

You can unsubscribe at any time.